St Ben Day 11.07.09

This year it was very nice to share the mass with the abbey I go to this year it was  was a very spieacal Mass as Douai Abbey was hostting the English Benedictine Congregation 4 yearly general chapter meetting. So all the abbots and abbess were there which filled the entire monastic choir which was great to see and the added a lovley sense of community. It was an abosolute joy to have the three abbot I admire most in the same place too how rare is that!      

Duirng the Mass what struck me about the readings was a sense of dedication is need to the be a follower of Christ and the we do need to question wherer we are going and in in the the way our communities are lead. Ithen reflected on. What are the comunitiyes in my life that I need to change and lead in a differrent way. I have a work comunity in the two job I do, I have my community of freinds form both church and scular life you could say, I have my youth work and the sense of family it brings and I also have my family community too. How I treat each one varies  acording to it need and how i feel about each situation it gives me. Do I treat them with the love of Christ? Sometimes yes sometimes no but I am human. I am often reminded by a quote from a boook callled finding sanctury where he quotes from the desert father and it is this a monk was once asked what do you do ther3 in the monestry and he replied We fall we get up , fall and  get up we fall and get up again. It is a constant reminder that we nneed to keep going in faith and the love of God   

 

THE READINGS

PROVERB 2:1-9

Moral Benefits of Wisdom

 1 My son, if you accept my words
       and store up my commands within you,

 2 turning your ear to wisdom
       and applying your heart to understanding,

 3 and if you call out for insight
       and cry aloud for understanding,

 4 and if you look for it as for silver
       and search for it as for hidden treasure,

 5 then you will understand the fear of the LORD
       and find the knowledge of God.

 6 For the LORD gives wisdom,
       and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

 7 He holds victory in store for the upright,
       he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,

 8 for he guards the course of the just
       and protects the way of his faithful ones.

 9 Then you will understand what is right and just
       and fair—every good path.

PSALM 33:2-11 R2

 2 Praise the LORD with the harp;
       make music to him on the ten-stringed lyre.

 3 Sing to him a new song;
       play skillfully, and shout for joy.

 4 For the word of the LORD is right and true;
       he is faithful in all he does.

 5 The LORD loves righteousness and justice;
       the earth is full of his unfailing love.

 6 By the word of the LORD were the heavens made,
       their starry host by the breath of his mouth.

 7 He gathers the waters of the sea into jars ;
       he puts the deep into storehouses.

 8 Let all the earth fear the LORD;
       let all the people of the world revere him.

 9 For he spoke, and it came to be;
       he commanded, and it stood firm.

 10 The LORD foils the plans of the nations;
       he thwarts the purposes of the peoples.

 11 But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever,
       the purposes of his heart through all generations

MATTHEW 19: 27 – 29

27Peter answered him, “We have left everything to follow you! What then will there be for us?”

 28Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne, you who have followed me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 29And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life.

Leave a Reply

