SILENCE – ?????

Ive been very challenged by the attempts to try and nurture silence  in my life.

I am also a bit frustrated when discussing it with Friend that they think it is  all about silent prayer.  To me it is more then that and something I  am failing at but need to keep going at at the same time.

 To me a definition  of silence could be letting go of all the on going distractions and and noise.    

So how do we cultivate the kind of spaces and the ability to let go of our back ground static   

So may be we should reflect on what are our back ground statics.  For me it my computer, the noise from the busy road, my laziness, my fear of hearing what really God want from me and my secular work can get in the way too. Eventhough I try and apply my Christian principles to my work    

I an attempt to cultivate more pray I have made an in door prayer station using an old desk and it is way from my work space. The one thing that is missing for me is a statue of St Benedict my  patron saint but eventually I’ll find one!  

WHAT ARE YOU EXPERIENCES OF SILENCE AND HOW DO YOU CULTIVATE IT IN YOU OWN LIFE?

He who has heard the Word of God can bear his silences.

 

Ignatius of Loyola (1491-1556)

Our religious activities should be ordered in such a way as to have plenty of time for the cultivation of the fruits of solitude and silence. 

 

A.W. Tozer, The Works of A.W. Tozer

Leave a Reply

