Pride

So pride is excessive belief in one’s own abilities, that interferes with the individual’s recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity. For me it has been a painful revelation that I need to let go of the hold that my family have on me with regards the way it block my relationship with God father and the image that portrays!

Over the last few months it become apparent to me that it not an outward pride that people can comment on but an inner pride in me that I can not really put into words right now. The the hurts over the years has meant that they have been deeply ingrained to the point now I feel I  may need more of a therapy style help if this makes sense and I am beginning to see that it may not be a bad thing! Overcoming pride requires humility. Humility is not false self-deprecation (insulting yourself so others can say otherwise), rather it is recognizing that all gifts and talents come from God and acknowledging as such.

St. Augustine of Hippo (354-430 A.D.) wrote, “‘Pride is the commencement of all sin’ because it was this which overthrew the devil, from whom arose the origin of sin; and afterwards, when his malice and envy pursued man, who was yet standing in his uprightness, it subverted him in the same way in which he himself fell. For the serpent, in fact, only sought for the door of pride whereby to enter when he said, ‘Ye shall be as gods.'”

Leave a Reply

